Plasencia: Primeras Vistas

IMG_1268

I arrived in my new hometown of Plasencia just under a week ago in a cloud of the worst jetlag of my life. Only a place like this could force me to forget about the 40-some hours I had been awake and inspire me to want to explore the minute I arrived.

IMG_1281

The town of Plasencia was founded in 1186 by King Alphonso VIII. It is a medieval walled city and the essence and history of the city have been very well preserved.

IMG_1280
image2

Every Tuesday there is an unreal farmer’s market in Plasencia’s Plaza Mayor. Guess who spent €5 on hella strawberries today.

IMG_1279

These are just a few of my snapshots from my walks around town. What amazes me is how safe it feels. Walking around by myself at 3am after pinchos y vino didn’t scare me in the slightest.

IMG_1276

IMG_1264

image3

IMG_1245

I’m not one for churches, but this one sure is beautiful. It has a bit of an identity crisis because one side of it is called the Old Cathedral and one is called the New Cathedral. It’s unique because it’s one of the few churches in Spain that has combined two in one. One side is in the Romanic-Gothic style and the other is in the Renaissance plateresque style. If you know me you know I have no idea what that means but I do know it looks fucking cool.

IMG_1277

IMG_1272
I foresee this being a favorite reading spot.

Best part: I have to walk through a “zoológico ornitológico” (bird zoo) on my way to my school in Plasencia. I literally sat on a bench amongst the peacocks and laughed to myself for like 10 minutes when I figured that out.

IMG_1262

IMG_1259

I am already feeling the love in my new hometown. Next on the to-do list (once I finish navigating the clusterfuck that is all of Spanish bureaucracy) is to explore Extremadura, what my Auxiliares guide calls “la gran desconocida de España” (the great unknown of Spain lolz).

IMG_1282

One thought on “Plasencia: Primeras Vistas

Leave a Reply

