No excuses

“Aren’t you worried it will fuck you up?”

“Yeah, but that’s kind of the point.”

Less than two weeks from now I begin volunteering on Lesvos, Greece, the island overrun with refugees.

I have almost no idea what I am getting myself into, and I am working on making myself alright with that.

I have an exceedingly comfortable life. I am going for some much-needed humility and perspective.

I am in Europe, a three-hour flight away and I have time off work. I am going because I have no excuse not to.

I am going because it is so easy for us Americans, on our isolated continent far, far away, to see this refugee crisis as other peoples’ problem.

I am going to educate myself and others about these heinous conditions humans inflict upon other humans.

I am going to (hopefully) improve someone’s shitty situation. I am going to get a hungry person a meal, give a cold person a blanket, and do what little I can.

I am going because if I were in that position, I think I would like to know that there was someone, even a stranger, out there looking out for me.

If you would like to consider donating, here is the link to my GoFundMe campaign.

One thought on “No excuses

Leave a Reply

